On Saturday March 23rd during the 10th annual MSHSL Official's Awards Presentation, long time RAOA member Loren Else will be receiving a Distinguished Service Award from the MSHSL.    Several other individuals from around the state will also receive Distinguished Service Awards.Loren was a 21 year member of RAOA from 1988-2009 and 33 year member of MSHSL where he got his start in the mid-1970's in East Central MN working basketball.  He retired from basketball in 2009.  Many of you may know Loren Else most recently from his weekly column that he writes for the Rochester Post Bulletin titled "Boomer Grandpa".  Below is an excerpt from the application to MSHSL.  

Loren was always very even keeled on the court and in the countless meetings and training sessions. Loren always offered a calming influence to those around him whether it be a fellow partner, coach, fan, or AD. This approach served Loren very well when mentoring officials.  One of Loren’s many strengths were his love and respect for the game. He worked hard to promote sportsmanship and mentor young officials. Loren also worked to recruit new officials, in particular women. Loren tried to instill in fellow officials that every single game is important and to always give 100% each and every night out. 

Loren worked 19 state tournaments during his tenure, including one State Championship. 


The awards presentation will take place during halftime of the Class A Boys Basketball Championship at approximately 11:45am.  (tip off is at 11am) The presentation will be part of the TV production that can be seen on Channel 45.  I believe this is Channel 192 for Rochester Charter customers.  The presentation can also be viewed online free at


Past RAOA recipients include: 

  • Jon Springer--Distinguished Service Award-2010

  • RAOA-Citation Award for the Mentorship Program-2010

  • Don Pankowski--Distinguished Service Award-2013

  • Mj Wagenson--Distinguished Service Award-2014

  • RAOA-Citation Award for Training Programs-2014

  • Char Robinet--Distinguished Service Award-2015

  • RAOA-Association of Excellence Award-2015

  • Jerry Kittleson--Distinguished Service Award-2016

  • Derald "Buck" Severson--Distinguished Service Award-2017